10 Interesting Facts about Hindu Gods

As we know that the third largest religion in the world is Hinduism. Unlike most other religions which have single god, Hinduism worship in many Gods and different way. Lord Shiva, Lord Brahma, Lord Vishnu, Lord Muruga, Lord Khrisna and Lord Ganesha will be explained on Facts about Hindu Gods. The Gods have different duties and reasons. That is why Hinduism has many Gods. Here are ten interesting facts about Hindu Gods.

Facts about Hindu Gods 1: Lord Shiva

Lord Shiva becomes the main god and Hindu trinity in Hinduism. He removes all evil from the world. That is why he is known as the destroyer god. Shiva has blue neck and three eyes (third eye is on his forehead). Moreover, Goddess Parvati is his wife. They had two sons, named Ganesha and Kartikeya. They live in the Himalayas. 

Facts about Hindu Gods 2: Lord Vishnu

Lord Vishnu is also one of the three main gods in Hinduism. Vishnu is known as the preserver god due to he protects the earth. Besides, he comes to earth in nine forms or avatars. Lakshmi (goddess of fortune) is his wife. Vishnu has four arms and light blue skin. His hands hold lotus, mace (gada), conch (shankha) and disc (chakra).

Lord Vishnu
Lord Vishnu

Facts about Hindu Gods 3: The avatars of Vishnu

Matsya (Fish), Kurma (Turtle), Varaha (Boar), Narasimha (half Lion, half Man), Vamana (Pygmy / Dwarf / Short man), Parashurama (Fierce man / Hunter), Rama (Developed man / Ideal man / Fighter), Krishna (Cowherd Prince), Balarama (Physically advanced man), Buddha (Intellectual and scientific man) are the avatars of Vishnu. However, the most famous avatars are Rama and Krishna.

Facts about Hindu Gods 4: Lord Brahma

As we know that there are three major gods of Hindus. They are Shiva, Vishnu, and Brahma. Brahma is the creator of the whole universe. He has five heads. However, one head have cut by Shiva and the other heads represent many aspects of Hinduism such as four Vedas, the Yugas, four Varnas.

Lord Brahma
Lord Brahma

Facts about Hindu Gods 5: Lord Murugan

Murugan is the Tamil god of war and victory. He is also known as Kartikeya and becomes the main god of worship in Tamil Nadu. He is Shiva and Parvathi’s son. Besides, he has six faces and six shrines (Arupadaiveedu).

Facts about Hindu Gods 6: Lord Ganesha

Ganesha is also a son of Shiva and Parvati. He is the god with head of elephant in Hinduism. He also becomes the popular god. Most people believe that he was a god of wisdom, success and good luck. He is known as Vighneshvara, which means one who is the lord of obstacles or difficulties in Sanskrit language.

Facts about Hindu Gods 7: The characteristics of Ganesha

There are many chatacteristics of Ganesha, including tubby body, red or orange skin, four arms, and three eyes. He also hold a mala (garland) and lotus flower. He sits in the bowl with sweets (laddus or modaks) on the top of it. Besides, there are many mouse or rat around him.

Facts about Hindu Gods 8: Sacred books

There are many sacred books in Hinduism such as Bhagvadgita, Four Vedas, 18 Puranas, Upanishadas, Ramayana, and Mahabharata.

The Vedas
The Vedas

Facts about Hindu Gods 9: Sanskrit

Sanskrit is the mother of all the languages or the language of demi-Gods. It is also used to write Hindu scriptures.

Facts about Hindu Gods 10: Place of Worship

A temple is the place of worship of Hindus.

Place of Worship
Place of Worship

Hopefully this article will help you to know more facts about Hindu Gods.

Share this post

Post Comment